Figure 1. The Juries and the Winners

Jakarta, 22nd of August 2020. To commemorate the 75th Anniversary of The Republic of Indonesia, Purnomo Yusgiantoro Center held an online Poetry Reading Competition for Primary School Students. The participants for this competition was divided into two age-group categories; the first category was for children aged 7-9 years and the second one was for children aged 10-12 years. The process of this competition started from early August, with registration for participants and uploading the videos into their own social media account like Facebook and Instagram. There were a  total of 133 participants from 12 provinces uploaded the video, who were then reduced to 10 finalists for each category eligible to enter the grand final to read a poem online in front of the judges. The titles for the poem to be read in the final round were “Museum Perjuangan” by Kuntowijoyo for the finalists in the first category and Chairil Anwar’s “Stories for Dien Tamaela” for the finalists in the second category.

In his opening remarks, Inka B. Yusgiantoro as the Head of the Supervisory Board of The Purnomo Yusgiantoro Center said, “We are holding this competition to boost the participation and enthusiasm from the nation’s next-generation, as well as showing our way in adapting to a new normal life. This competition is the first poetry competition held by the Purnomo Yusgiantoro Center”.

The first judge in the grand final was Lis Purnomo Yusgiantoro, who was also the Member of the Governing Board for Social Initiative. The second judge was Kak Seto Mulyadi, a psychologist  specilized in children’s psychology, who has been working with children for 50 years and the third judge was Inaya Wahid, a presenter, social activist and stand-up comedian who also has a penchant for writing poetries. After the judges’ meeting to discuss the finalists’ scores, Inaya Wahid read one of the poems she wrote about independence for the finalists. The comments coming from the judges regarding the finalists were almost identical, that their performances were very good that it made it difficult for the judges to determine who would win the competition.

The followings are the names of the five winners in the first category:

  1. Dzakwaa Suatriko Putra, 4th grader of SD Muhammadiyah 2 Samarinda.
  2. Brilliyani Ayu Fadhila Rachman, 3rd grader of SD Tompokersan 03 Lumajang Timur.
  3. Putu Kesava Ananda Putra, 4th grader of SDS Melania III, DKI Jakarta.
  4. Syalom Given Erlius, 2nd grader of SD Melania III, DKI Jakarta.
  5. Tristan Devano, 3rd grader of SD Santo Yakobus, DKI Jakarta.

And here are the five winners in the second category:

  1. Monica Verlyn Chistyarini, 6th grader of SD Santo Yakobus, DKI Jakarta.
  2. Bianca Maura Filia, 5th grader of SDN Pedurenan 01, Bekasi, Jawa Barat.
  3. Ida Ayu Made Kirana Anjani, 6th grader of SD Negeri 1 Semarapura Kangin, Bali.
  4. Nala Ksatriaputru, 6th grader of SDT Bina Ilmu Parung Bogor.
  5. Adinda Elmira Alkhalifi, 5th grader of MIN 10 Blitar.

In addition to the winners based on the judges’ assessment, there were also participants dubbed as  favorite participant and favorite finalists; and they are:

FAVORITE FINALISTS : First Category: Tristan Devano

Second Category: Ngakan Made Agus Dhita Pebriawan

The supporters from each finalists provided a lot of support and encouragement in the PYC YouTube live chat column where the Purnomo Yusgiantoro Center Poetry Reading Competition was broadcasted live.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here