Picture 1. Chess participants with Mr. Samuel Ramlan, MN, FA (the Chairman Referee), Mrs. Filda Yusgiantoro, Ph.D. (PYC Chairperson), Mr. Nanang Surahman Agung Pujalaksana (PERCASI), Prof. Purnomo Yusgiantoro and Mrs. Lis Purnomo Yusgiantoro at the ceremony

To celebrate the 72nd Indonesia Independence Day, Purnomo Yusgiantoro Center (PYC) held the 2nd Junior Chess Championship (U9) to win the chess trophy of Prof. Purnomo Yusgiantoro, Ir., MSc., MA., Ph.D. The event took place on Saturday, August 12, 2017, and it was attended by 76 participants from several regions such as DKI Jakarta, West Java, Banten, Central Java, and the country of Taiwan.

The Deputy Secretary General of the Indonesian Chess Association (PERCASI), Mr. Nanang Surahman Agung Pujalaksana, attended the opening ceremony. In his speech, he said that the PYC Junior Chess Championship is in line with the mission and vision of PERCASI management period 2017-2022, to find new junior champions who have the potency to be the new Grand Master representing Indonesia. The Chairman of the Organizing Committee, Mrs. Filda Yusgiantoro, Ph.D., stated that this year’s championship increased the age group of participants U7 to U9 due to a positive response to last year’s junior chess in U7.

The championship took place in 7 rounds and finishes at approximately 5 pm. The event concluded with the announcement of the top 10 winners, announced by the Chairman Referee, Mr. Samuel Ramlan, MN, FA. Participants from West Java colored most of the top 10 winners of this year’s championship. Samantha Edithso emerged as the champion, winning the top prize and the chess trophy. She also received two million rupiah in cash. The second winner was held by Riza Raditya Rieko from DKI Jakarta, and the third winner was taken by Morado Simanjuntak from West Java.

Here are the names of the top 10 winners:

1. Samantha Edithso from West Java

2. Riza Raditya Rieko from DKI Jakarta

3. Morado Simanjuntak from West Java

4. Miracle Carang Gesang from Bogor

5. Frida Nadine Fallencia from West Java

6. Patrick Purnama from Banten

7. Maulana from DKI Jakarta

8. M. Fachri Hussaini from Banten

9. Ayesha Hafizah Amara Jahidin from West Java

10. Clementia Adeline from DKI Jakarta

“This is the biggest junior chess championship in Indonesia, followed by 76 participants,” said Mr. Samuel Ramlan, MN, FA, the Referee of the Championship. “This time we have one participant from Taiwan. Also, this chess championship also provides the highest prizes in the junior chess championship for age group 9 years old (U9) in Indonesia”.

Mrs. Filda Yusgiantoro, Ph.D. Asserted that this junior chess championship would take place again next year and it will be one of PYC’s routine social activities, receiving its blessings from one of PYC board members, Mrs. Lis Purnomo Yusgiantoro.

Picture 2. The Winner: Samantha Edithso (West Java), The 2nd Winner: Riza Raditya Rieko (DKI Jakarta), and the 3rd Winner: Morado Simanjuntak (West Java)

Picture 3. Participants at the Junior Chess Championship U9 to with the chess trophy of Prof. Purnomo Yusgiantoro Ir. MSc. MA. Ph.D.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here